

Minutes of the 2012–2013 Board of Directors Teleconference July 24, 2013

The 2012-2013 Toastmasters International Board of Directors convened on July 24, 2013, with International President John Lau, DTM, presiding. The other officers and directors present were: George Yen, DTM; Mohammed Murad, DTM; Jim Kokocki, DTM; Michael Notaro, IPIP, DTM; Balraj Arunasalam, DTM; Mike Barsul, DTM; Joseph Gomez, DTM; Don Griffith, DTM; Patricia Hannan, DTM; Wendy Harding, DTM; Mike Helm, DTM; Kristina Kihlberg, DTM; Viki Kinsman, DTM; Andrew Little, DTM; Lori Lococo, DTM; David McCallister, DTM; James Sultan, DTM; and George Thomas, DTM. Executive Director Daniel Rex and Secretary/Treasurer Sally Newell Cohen were also present.

The report of the Executive Committee was presented by International President-Elect Yen and covered the following item considered during its June 26, 2013 teleconference:

The 2012–2013 Executive Committee convened at 6 p.m. on June 26, 2013, with International President John Lau, DTM, presiding. The other officers present were: International President-Elect George Yen, DTM; First Vice President Mohammed Murad, DTM; Second Vice President Jim Kokocki, DTM; and Immediate Past President Michael Notaro, DTM. Executive Director Daniel Rex and Secretary/Treasurer Sally Newell Cohen also were present.

- 1. The Committee reviewed and approved several modifications to the Speech Contest Rulebook that clarify terminology and ensure greater consistency in how rules are applied. The modifications will be reflected in the upcoming 2014 Speech Contest Rulebook.
- 2. The Committee voted to authorize funds from the Ralph C. Smedley Memorial Fund, not to exceed \$500,000, to support the development of the Revitalized Education Program expected to launch in the second half of 2014.

The Board voted to accept and approve the recommendations and actions in the report.

International President Lau adjourned the meeting at 7 p.m.

Pursuant to Policy 11.3, items contained in the minutes of this meeting were classified as "unrestricted" upon distribution of the minutes by World Headquarters, not to include any matters marked "restricted."

Sally Hewell Cohe

Sally Newell Cohen Secretary/Treasurer

Distribution: Board of Directors Nonprofit General Counsel Executive Director