

Minutes of the Toastmasters International Annual Business Meeting Cincinnati, Ohio August 24, 2013

The meeting was called to order by International President John Lau, DTM, at 12 p.m. on Saturday, August 24, 2013.

Chair Lau announced the following appointments:

- Timers Amy Wendling, Club 214 and Bev Doern, Club 4866
- Credentials Committee Chair Past International Director Tim Swearingen, DTM
- Credentials Committee Vice Chairs Past International Director Joe Jarzombek, DTM and Past International Director Ron Kirchgessner, DTM
- Supervising Director International Director Viki Kinsman, DTM
- Parliamentarian Past International Director Herb Nowlin, DTM

Credentials Committee Chair Swearingen reported as follows: A total of 21,176 ballots were accredited, representing 10,476 of the 14,244 eligible clubs, with two votes each, and 224 of the 322 eligible delegates at large were present, each with one vote. The Chair declared a quorum to be present.

Parliamentarian Nowlin explained the procedural rules prescribed by the Board of Directors for the election of three officers for the 2013–2014 term and of seven directors for the 2013–2015 term. Nowlin also provided directions for delegates on the casting of ballots.

Past International President, Gary Schmidt, DTM, Chair of the 2012–2013 International Leadership Committee, presented the Committee's report.

Candidate	Office	Ballot 1	Ballot 2
Mohammed Murad, DTM	International President-Elect (uncontested)	1	
Jim Kokocki , DTM	First Vice President (uncontested)	1	
Theo Black, DTM	Second Vice President	4,078	
David Hollingshead, DTM	Second Vice President	5,177	
Mike Storkey, DTM	Second Vice President	11,294	
Julia Davis, DTM	International Director Region 1	6,350	
Tom Jones, DTM	International Director Region 1	7,521	10,391

The following are the results of the officer and director elections:



TOASTM

For the two uncontested offices it was moved and seconded that a secret ballot be dispensed with and a single ballot cast.

Chair Lau announced that Murad, Kokocki and Storkey had been elected International President-Elect, First Vice President and Second Vice President respectively, for 2013–2014. Chair Lau also announced the following candidates elected as international director for the term of 2013–2015: Jones, Blake, Shaner, Hill, Peck, Matlagaitu and Menon.

Chair Lau referred to the letter to all club presidents notifying them of the proposed amendments to the Bylaws of Toastmasters International, also known as Proposal A: Amendments to the Club Constitution and the Standard Bylaws for Clubs of Toastmasters International. Notice of the proposed amendments was properly mailed to the voting membership at least 60 days before this meeting, with the Board of Directors' recommendation that they be adopted. The proposed amendments include language modifications to the standards that improve readability and clarity. Chair Lau called upon First Vice President, Mohammed Murad, DTM, who presented and explained the reasons for the



Board's recommendation and moved for adoption of the amendments. After an opportunity for discussion, a vote was taken. The results were: 19,502 "for" and 1,086 "against". Chair Lau announced that the amendments had been adopted by more than the required two-thirds vote of the votes cast in person or by proxy.

The Bylaws of Toastmasters International authorizes the submission of proposed Bylaws amendments by "at least one percent (1%) of all the votes held by the voting membership" (Article XIV, Section 1(b)(2)). Based on the total number of clubs eligible to vote at the 2013 Annual Business Meeting, (28,488 votes), the 1% minimum requirement for any such proposal to be submitted for consideration at the 2014 Annual Business Meeting is 284, representing 142 clubs or 284 delegates at large, or any combination of those two voting memberships.

There being no further business to come before the 82nd Annual Business Meeting, it was adjourned at 3:10 p.m.

Sally Hewell Cohe

Sally Newell Cohen Secretary/Treasurer

Distribution: Board of Directors Nonprofit General Counsel Executive Director