

Minutes of the Toastmasters International Annual Business Meeting Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia August 23, 2014

The meeting was called to order by International President George Yen, DTM, at 12:30 p.m. on Saturday, August 23, 2014.

Chair Yen announced the following appointments:

- Timers Shel Ling Chew, DTM, Clubs 5058 and 1204295 and Peng Yew Yoon, DTM, Clubs 7675 and 9699
- Credentials Committee Chair Past International President Gary Schmidt, DTM
- Credentials Committee Vice Chairs Past International President Gavin Blakey, DTM and Past International President Jana Barnhill, DTM
- Supervising Director International Director Lori Lococo, DTM
- Parliamentarian Past International Director Bill Woolfolk, DTM

Credentials Committee Chair Schmidt reported as follows: A total of 19,118 ballots were accredited, representing 9,484 of the 15,011 eligible clubs, with two votes each, and 150 of the 331 eligible delegates at large were present, each with one vote. The Chair declared a quorum to be present.

Parliamentarian Woolfolk explained the procedural rules prescribed by the Board of Directors for the election of three officers for the 2014–2015 term and of seven directors for the 2014–2016 term. Woolfolk also provided directions for delegates on the casting of ballots.

Past International President, Pat Johnson, DTM, Chair of the 2013–2014 International Leadership Committee, presented the Committee's report.

Candidate	Office	Ballot 1	Ballot 2
Jim Kokocki , DTM	International President-Elect (uncontested)	1	
Mike Storkey, DTM	First Vice President (uncontested)	1	
Balraj Arunasalam, DTM	Second Vice President	13,410	
George Thomas, DTM	Second Vice President	4,892	
Gloria Shishido, DTM	International Director Region 2 (uncontested)	1	
Mary Swanson, DTM	International Director Region 4	5,202	
George Volz, DTM	International Director Region 4	6,812	9,044

The following are the results of the officer and director elections:



Joan Watson, DTM	International Director Region 4	6,136	9,222
Norma Domey, DTM	International Director Region 6	3,888	
Ross Mackay, DTM	International Director Region 6	14,517	
Richard Furbush, DTM	International Director Region 8 (nominated by the ILC; withdrew prior to election)	0	
Matt Kinsey, DTM	International Director Region 8	6,551	
Dennis E. Wooldridge, DTM	International Director Region 8	12,436	
Ede Ferrari-D'Angelo, DTM	International Director Region 10	12,536	
Charley Patton, DTM	International Director Region 10	5,892	
Kaylene Ledgar, DTM	International Director Region 12	6,116	7,619
Charlie Starrett, DTM	International Director Region 12	8,127	11,014
Ross Wilkinson, DTM	International Director Region 12	4,503	
Ritchie Chong, DTM	International Director Region 14	5,194	
Patrick Oei, DTM	International Director Region 14	13,580	

For the three uncontested offices it was moved and seconded that a secret ballot be dispensed with and a single ballot cast.

Chair Yen announced that Kokocki, Storkey and Arunasalam had been elected International President-Elect, First Vice President and Second Vice President respectively, for 2014–2015.

The Bylaws of Toastmasters International authorizes the submission of proposed Bylaws amendments by "at least one percent (1%) of all the votes held by the voting membership" (Article XIV, Section 1(b)(2)). Based on the total number of clubs eligible to vote at the 2014 Annual Business Meeting, (30022 votes), the 1% minimum requirement for any such proposal to be submitted for consideration at the 2015 Annual Business Meeting is 300, representing 150 clubs or 300 delegates at large, or any combination of those two voting memberships.



Chair Yen also announced the following candidates elected as international director for the term of 2014–2016: Shishido, Watson, Mackay, Wooldridge, Ferrari-D'Angelo, Starrett and Oei.

There being no further business to come before the 83rd Annual Business Meeting, it was adjourned at 3:15 p.m.

Sally Newell Cone

Sally Newell Cohen Secretary/Treasurer

Distribution: Board of Directors Nonprofit General Counsel Executive Director