

Minutes of the Toastmasters International Annual Business Meeting Las Vegas, Nevada August 15, 2015

The meeting was called to order by International President Mohammed Murad, DTM, at 8:00 a.m. on Saturday, August 15, 2015.

Chair Murad announced the following appointments:

- Timers Norma Tanner, DTM, Club 2628 and Brenda O'Brien, DTM, Club 610346
- Credentials Committee Chair Past International President Gary Schmidt, DTM
- Credentials Committee Vice Chairs Past International Director Ron Kirchgessner, DTM and Past International Director Jim Sultan, DTM
- Supervising Director International Director Sharon Anita Hill, DTM
- Parliamentarian Past International Director Herb Nowlin, DTM

Credentials Committee Chair Schmidt reported as follows: A total of 21,419 ballots were accredited, representing 10,617 of the 15,860 eligible clubs, with two votes each, and 185 of the 338 eligible delegates at large were present, each with one vote. The Chair declared a quorum to be present.

Parliamentarian Nowlin explained the procedural rules prescribed by the Board of Directors for the election of three officers for the 2015–2016 term and of seven directors for the 2015–2017 term. Nowlin also provided directions for delegates on the casting of ballots.

Past International President, Michael Notaro, DTM, Chair of the 2014–2015 International Leadership Committee, presented the Committee's report.

Candidate	Office	Ballot 1	Ballot 2
Mike Storkey, DTM	International President-Elect (uncontested)	1	
Balraj Arunasalam, DTM	First Vice President (uncontested)	1	
Mike Barsul, DTM	Second Vice President	1,649	
Lark Doley, DTM	Second Vice President	14,958	
Kevin Doyle, DTM	Second Vice President	1,825	
Mike Helm, DTM	Second Vice President	2,435	
Margaret Page, DTM	International Director Region 1 (uncontested)	1	
Crystal Allbritton	International Director Region 3	11,587	

The following are the results of the officer and director elections:



TK O'Geary, DTM	International Director Region 3	7,462	
David Rebeles, DTM	International Director Region 3	1,493	
Stanley E. See, DTM	International Director Region 3	126	
Eileen James, DTM	International Director Region 5	3,216	
Magnus Jansson, DTM	International Director Region 5	17,235	
Russell Drake, DTM	International Director Region 7	11,826	
Robert Logan, ATMG	International Director Region 7 (nominated by the ILC; withdrew prior to election)	0	
Naomi Takeuchi, DTM	International Director Region 7	9,159	
Steve Chen, DTM	International Director Region 9	17,226	
Jeff Sobel, DTM	International Director Region 9	3,570	
Teresa Dukes, DTM	International Director Region 11	12,080	
Elizabeth Nostedt, DTM	International Director Region 11	8,409	
Nagaraja Rao, DTM	International Director Region 13	12,694	
Jorie Wu, DTM	International Director Region 13	8,131	

For the three uncontested offices it was moved, seconded and unanimously approved that a secret ballot be dispensed with and a single ballot cast.

Chair Murad announced that Storkey, Arunasalam and Doley had been elected International President-Elect, First Vice President and Second Vice President respectively, for 2015–2016.

Chair Murad referred to the letter to all club presidents notifying them of Proposal A: Amendments to the Bylaws of Toastmasters International. Notice of the proposed amendments was properly mailed to the voting membership at least 60 days before this meeting, with the Board of Directors' recommendation that they be adopted. The proposed amendments include:

- Expanding the number of candidates who may be nominated by the International Leadership Committee (ILC) for Second Vice President and international director
- Modernizing the district leader titles to reflect a mission-focused approach to the roles and properly represent that status of district leadership
- Reserving the establishment of legal entities above the club to the Board of Directors
- Replacing the words "Policies and Procedures" with "Policies"
- Adding the modifier "international" when referring to members of the Toastmasters International Board of Directors



Chair Murad opened the floor for discussion on Proposal A: Amendments to the Bylaws of Toastmasters International. There were speakers "for" and "against" the Proposal.

A motion was made to have Proposal A divided into parts to be voted on separately. This motion was denied under the Bylaws of Toastmasters International, Article XIV, Section 1(c): "No amendments to the proposed amendment may be made during the meeting, nor at any time after sixty (60) days prior to the meeting."

A motion was also made and seconded for Proposal A to be committed or referred back to the Board of Directors for further review. A vote was taken on the motion. The results were: 10,394 "no" and 9,862 "yes". Chair Murad announced that the motion failed.

Chair Murad called upon International President-Elect Jim Kokocki, DTM who presented and explained the reasons for the Board's recommendation and moved for adoption of Proposal A, the Bylaw amendments. After an opportunity for discussion, a vote was taken. The results were: 15,793 "for" and 4,944 "against". Chair Murad announced that the Bylaw amendments had been adopted by more than the required two-thirds vote of the votes cast in person or by proxy.

The Bylaws of Toastmasters International authorizes the submission of proposed Bylaws amendments by "at least one percent (1%) of all the votes held by the voting membership" (Article XIV, Section 1(b)(2)). Based on the total number of clubs eligible to vote at the 2015 Annual Business Meeting, (31,720 votes), the 1% minimum requirement for any such proposal to be submitted for consideration at the 2016 Annual Business Meeting is 317.2, representing 158.6 clubs or 317.2 delegates at large, or any combination of those two voting memberships.

Chair Murad also announced the following candidates elected as international director for the term of 2015–2017: Page, Allbritton, Jansson, Drake, Chen, Dukes and Rao.

There being no further business to come before the 84th Annual Business Meeting, it was adjourned.

Jennifer Quinn Secretary/Treasurer

Distribution: Board of Directors Nonprofit General Counsel Executive Director Past International Presidents Past International Directors