

Minutes of the Toastmasters International Annual Business Meeting

August 26 and 27, 2021

The meeting was called to order by International President Richard Peck, DTM at 8 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time on Thursday, August 26, 2021.

Chair Peck announced the following appointments:

- Credentials Committee Chair Past International Director Jim Kohli, DTM
- Credentials Committee Co-Chairs Past International President Gary Schmidt, DTM and Past International Director Elisa Tay, DTM
- Supervising Director International Director Mohamad Qayoom, DTM
- Parliamentarian Patti Titus, DTM, Registered Parliamentarian

Credentials Committee Chair Kohli reported as follows: A total of 23,195 ballots were accredited, representing 11,476 of the 16,001 eligible clubs, with two votes each, and 243 of the 327 eligible delegates at large, each with one vote. The Chair declared a quorum to be present.

Registered Parliamentarian Titus explained the procedural rules prescribed by the Board of Directors for the election of three officers for the 2021-2022 term and seven directors for the 2021-2023 term. Titus also provided direction for delegates on the casting of ballots.

Past International President, Balraj Arunasalam, DTM, Chair of the 2020-2021 International Leadership Committee, presented the Committee's report.

International Officer and Director Elections

International President Peck explained that, due to the global pandemic, the Board of Directors decided that the Annual Business Meeting would be conducted virtually, with up to 24 hours available for voting, and that all elections with three or more candidates would be conducted using preferential voting if necessary. All of this information had been provided previously to all Member Clubs and Delegates at Large.

Time was provided for candidates to declare from the floor for each office, and two-minute candidate speeches were broadcast to the delegates.

On August 27, 2021, subsequent to the 24-hour voting period, International President Peck announced the following results of the officer and director elections:

| Candidate | Office | Ballot | Preferential Voting |
|------------------------------|--|--------|------------------------|
| Matt Kinsey, DTM | International President-Elect (uncontested) | 1 | |
| Morag Mathieson, DTM | First Vice President (uncontested) | 1 | |
| Russell L. Drake, DTM | Second Vice President | 1,058 | |
| Radhi Spear, DTM | Second Vice President | 11,264 | |
| David Templeman, DTM | Second Vice President | 8,851 | |
| Louisa Davis, DTM | International Director 1 | 13,898 | |
| E. Tyree Johnson, DTM | International Director 1 | 6,877 | |
| Antonio Colorado, DTM | International Director 3 | 6,771 | |
| Michael J. Holian, DTM | International Director 3 | 13,442 | |
| Farzana Chohan, DTM | International Director 5 | 5,981 | |
| Monnica B. Rose, DTM | International Director 5 | 14,829 | |
| Elmer Hill, DTM | International Director 7 | 9,802 | 11,019 |
| Perry Neal, DTM | International Director 7 | 3,882 | |
| Dana G. Richard, DTM | International Director 7 | 6,961 | 9,300 |
| Ronald Servant, DTM | International Director 9 | 9,688 | |
| Jeff Sobel, DTM | International Director 9 | 11,063 | |
| Soloman Almadi, DTM | International Director 11 | 1,967 | |
| Nazeer Gazaq Alqasem, DTM | International Director 11 | 1,966 | |
| Rozy Rana, DTM | International Director 11 | 7,728 | 9,040 |
| Ali Shahbaz Ali Shah, DTM | International Director 11 | 9,112 | 11,447 |
| Thannimalai Letchumanan, DTM | International Director 13 | 4,251 | |
| Gauri Seshadri, DTM | International Director 13 | 16,836 | |

Chair Peck announced that Kinsey, Mathieson, and Spear were elected International President-Elect, First Vice President, and Second Vice President, respectively, for the term of 2021-2022.

Chair Peck also announced the following candidates elected as International Director for the term of 2021-2023: Davis, Holian, Rose, Hill, Sobel, Shah, and Seshadri.

The Bylaws of Toastmasters International authorizes the submission of proposed Bylaws amendments by "at least one percent (1%) of all the votes held by the voting membership" (Article XIV, Section 1(b)(2)). Based on the total number of clubs eligible to vote at the 2021 Annual Business Meeting (32,002 votes), the 1% minimum requirement for any such proposal to be submitted for consideration at the 2022 Annual Business Meeting is 320.02, representing 160.01 clubs or 320.02 Delegates at Large, or any combination of those two voting memberships.

As there was no other business on the agenda, the meeting was adjourned.

Pursuant to Protocol 11.3: Board of Directors Confidentiality, items contained in the minutes of this meeting were classified as "unrestricted" upon distribution of the minutes by World Headquarters, not to include any matters marked "restricted."

Rate Mingsone

Kate Wingrove Secretary

Distribution: Board of Directors Nonprofit General Counsel Chief Executive Officer Past International Presidents Past International Directors