

## Minutes of the 2019-2020 Board of Directors Teleconference February 24, 2020

The 2019-2020 Toastmasters International Board of Directors convened February 24, 2020, with International President Deepak Menon, DTM, presiding. The officers and directors present were: Richard E. Peck, DTM; Margaret Page, DTM; Matt Kinsey, DTM; Lark Doley, DTM; Sudha Balajee, DTM; John Lesko, DTM; Joan T. Lewis, DTM; Anthony J. Longley, DTM; Larry Marik, DTM; Stefano S. McGhee, DTM; TK O'Geary, DTM; Carol Prahinski, DTM; Mohamad A. Qayoom, DTM; Aletta Rochat, DTM; Naomi Takeuchi, DTM; David Templeman, DTM; Tuire Vuolasvirta, DTM; International Director Susan Zhou, DTM; and Chief Executive Officer Daniel Rex. Chief Digital and Information Officer Sam Farajian, Chief Financial Officer John Bond, Marketing Communications Director John Lurquin, Club Quality and Member Support Director Danielle Mitchell, District Growth and Support Director Jonathan Lam, Training and Development Director Kate Rynerson-Wingrove, Accounting Supervisor Greg Wingrove, New Clubs Supervisor Sandra Munoz, Secretary Angela Mennenga, and Executive Services Manager Mona Shah were also present.

- 1. The Board reviewed and accepted the agenda as presented.
- 2. The Board received the report of the District Excellence Committee as presented by First Vice President Page, Second Vice President Kinsey, International Directors Vuolasvirta, Rochat, Longley, McGhee, Zhou, and Takeuchi.

In recent years, many Districts have not reached the minimum goals to achieve Distinguished status or better under the District Recognition Program. Some Districts seem to focus more on District management activities than leading and inspiring the District, training and motivating the District Executive Committee, building sustainable new clubs, and ensuring that clubs are providing an excellent Toastmasters program.

The District Excellence Committee met to review the strategies and tactics used by successful Districts around the world to accomplish the District mission. The Committee's goal was to encourage all Districts to use these strategies and tactics. This review covered 36 Districts across all 14 regions who have achieved various levels of success as defined by the District Recognition Program. The Committee interviewed past leaders and reviewed District Success Plans to identify 26 proven strategies and their associated tactics that have been used by the most successful Districts as measured by the District Recognition Program. Multiple strategies have been identified for building new clubs, leadership and team development, communication, member growth, and club excellence.



The Committee anticipates that District leaders who use these proven strategies and tactics will be empowered to make successful choices, simplify their success planning, allow for faster action, and boost confidence toward achievement in the District Recognition Program.

The success strategies and tactics will be introduced to the Districts for inclusion in their 2020-2021 District Success Plans. We have already received positive feedback about these strategies.

Going forward the Region Advisor team will maintain the list of recommended success strategies. The Committee envisions that these strategies will be included in a fully automated, web-enabled District Success Planning System in the future that will provide for guided plan creation, approval, evaluation, modification, and tactics being implemented in the District.

The Board voted to adopt the Committee's recommendations and report, as presented.

As there was no other business on the agenda, the meeting was adjourned.

Pursuant to Policy 11.3: Board of Directors Confidentiality, items contained in the minutes of this meeting were classified as "unrestricted" upon distribution of the minutes by World Headquarters, not to include any matters marked "restricted" or "highly confidential."

Apple Mennenga

Angela Mennenga Secretary

Distribution: Board of Directors Nonprofit General Counsel Chief Executive Officer Past International Presidents Past International Directors