

Minutes of the 2019-2020 Board of Directors Teleconference October 23, 2019

The 2019-2020 Toastmasters International Board of Directors convened on October 23, 2019, with International President Deepak Menon, DTM, presiding. The officers and directors present were: Richard E. Peck, DTM; Matt Kinsey, DTM; Lark Doley, DTM; Sudha Balajee, DTM; John Lesko, DTM; Joan T. Lewis, DTM; Anthony J. Longley, DTM; Larry Marik, DTM; Stefano S. McGhee, DTM; TK O'Geary, DTM; Carol Prahinski, DTM; Mohamad A. Qayoom, DTM; Aletta Rochat, DTM; Naomi Takeuchi, DTM; David Templeman, DTM; Tuire Vuolasvirta, DTM; Susan Zhou, DTM; and Chief Executive Officer Daniel Rex. Chief Financial Officer John Bond, Chief Digital and Information Officer Sam Farajian, Marketing and Communications Director John Lurquin, District Growth and Support Manager Jonathan Lam, Training and Development Manager Kate Rynerson-Wingrove, Secretary Angela Mennenga, and Executive Services Manager Mona Shah were also present. Margaret Page, DTM, was absent.

- 1. Chief Financial Officer John Bond provided the Board with an overview of District Finances and the changes that will be implemented July 1, 2020. These changes will enhance the effectiveness of district spending and promote sound fiscal management by clarifying procedures and implementing more detailed budgetary, audit, and district reserve fund rules.
- 2. District Growth and Support Manager Jonathan Lam provided the Board with an overview of the changes made to strengthen the District Leadership Committee that took effect September 1, 2019.

As there was no other business on the agenda, the meeting was adjourned.

Pursuant to Policy 11.3, items contained in the minutes of this meeting were classified as "unrestricted" upon distribution of the minutes by World Headquarters, not to include any matters marked "restricted" or "highly confidential."

Mennevea

Angela Mennenga Secretary

Distribution: Board of Directors Nonprofit General Counsel Chief Executive Officer Past International Presidents Past International Directors